Student Media Board

The Kennesaw State Student Media Board was a standing committee of students, faculty, staff, and others that meets as needed during the school year to oversee and advise certain areas of the KSU Student Media operation. The board was primarily advisory in capacity, but did have authority over the selection and, if necessary, dismissal of editors in chief and other top student managers that the board appoints. The board also reviewed grievances and complaints, as well as advised student media to ensure that effective service was given to the student body. Along with protecting the rights of these organizations to operate free of censorship.

Student Media organizations created their own individual constitutions and selected their own advisers, in keeping with other student organizations at KSU in the summer of 2017. However, the student media groups (The Sentinel newspaper, Owl Radio, and The Peak Magazine) still work closely with each other, having built procedures into their constitutions and creating a smaller, more informal committee called "Heads of State" which consists of the editor in chiefs, general manager, and their faculty advisers.

In light of this, the SMB was dissolved in May 2017. This page is maintained for historical purposes.

The SMB Bylaws (PDF)


Applications for Editor in Chief of KSUSM publications and General Manager of Owl Radio are accepted in March and April of each academic year. For info and an application, please watch for announcements or contact the adviser at 470-578-3083. 

The Student Media Board is composed of 15 regular members; twelve (12) voting members and three (3) nonvoting members as follows:

  1. Advisor to the Media Board: Dean of Students (ex officio, may vote to make or break a tie)
  2. Student editor in chief: newspaper (ex-officio, voting)
  3. Student editor in chief: feature magazine (ex-officio, voting)
  4. Student editor in chief: art & literary magazine (ex-officio, voting)
  5. Student station manager: Owl Radio (ex-officio, voting; pending)
  6. Student member at large: appointed through Student Involvement office (voting; preferably a graduate student)
  7. Student member at large: appointed through Student Involvement office (KAB voting)*
  8. Student Government Representative: appointed (voting)
  9. Student member at large: appointed from ISA or AASA (voting)
  10. KSU staff member at large (voting)
  11. KSU faculty: Communication Dept. (voting)
  12. KSU faculty: English Dept. (voting)
  13. KSU staff member: University Relations (voting)
  14. Student Media Marketing Coordinator (ex-officio, nonvoting)
  15. Associate Director of the Student Life Department, for Student Media (ex-officio, nonvoting)

For other documents, check the forms section.